Everybody Loves Raymund

The Salomon Collection



1) XT Wings

lightweight trail running

2) Tech Amphibian

light trekking and river crossing

3) Ascend

trekking and climbing

June 21, 2009 Posted by | Gadgets and Gear, Miscellaneous | Leave a comment

The Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

The Fraternal Order of Utopia, Ateneo de Manila University School of Law is sponsoring a special screening of The Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen on Friday, June 26 at 8pm at the Glorietta 4 Cinema 7.

Tickets are available at P500. For inquiries contact Tim Lim at 0917 5381064.

After the movie, there will be an after-event party at Temple Bar, Greenbelt. Open bar!

June 21, 2009 Posted by | Miscellaneous | , | Leave a comment

The Threat



From the wife. 🙂 Runners beware!

June 21, 2009 Posted by | Photography, Running | 4 Comments

The Long and Winding Trail

Men’s Health All-Terrain Race
Sta. Elena, Sta. Rosa Laguna
June 21, 2009
So much for a beginner’s trail run! Had it been raining the previous day or on race day, the level of difficulty would be greater.
The trail was about 2-3 meters wide lined with grass growing twice the size of a man. It was a bike trail situated in the woods beside the Sta. Elena Golf Course. Most parts were dry but I had to cross some mud patches from time to time.  I initially planned on doing an easy pace but somehow I ended up running like I was on the road. This turned out to be a bad idea. By the 2nd kilometer I discovered that the terrain was actually rolling. There were some slight incline climbs and downhills.  I had to skip, hop and jump to move forward. Also, the route was filled with twists and sharp turns. Just when I gained momentum, I had to turn sharply around a corner. Thus, it was very hard to maintain a steady pace. From then on I decided to take it easy to conserve energy. I cut corners so I wouldn’t have to shift too much and risk injuring my knee because of sudden lateral moves. I like the fact that there were distance markers for every kilometer because that helped me strategize. I’m now looking forward to the next trail run.
A not so strong finish. But still not so bad for a first. Lesson learned: train for trail
Rank         Bib      Time         Pace (min/km)
65/162    5390    1:44:45     0:6:59
Official results posted on http://runrio.com
The Salomon XT Wings
The traction, fit and design was excellent. I like most the comfortable, snug fit. Heel support was the best most specially during downhills where I use a heel strike for anchor and stability. The shoes have a secure grip on wet surfaces, mud, grass or concrete. It’s lightweight and flexible but offers enough protection from twigs, tree branches, rocks and even broken glass (there were a few broken bottles on the trail).
What the Wings could use more of is some forefoot cushioning. My left forefoot ached by the 12th km. I’m thinking of getting silicone gel insoles for it.  Overall, on a scale of 1-10, I rate the Salomon XT Wings a 9.
Congratulations and  thanks to the people behind Men’s Health, Summit Media, Vince (finishline.ph) and Coach Rio.

June 21, 2009 Posted by | Gadgets and Gear, Running | , | 1 Comment

Testing…1…2…3…Nike…Test

Nike presents to the running community a new training shoe, the Lunar Glide+. Combining what Nike has learned from the Lunar series they came up with this new lightweight running shoe that provides both cushioning and stability. The soles have reinforced support in the lateral area, as well as in the heels. These make the shoes adjust according to the runner’s gait which varies depending on the time and distance or runs. I remember spraining the left side of my left foot during the Condura Skyway 21k run.
The Lunar Glide+ features Nike’s Lunar Lite Foam Technology and Flywire. On top of these, it can be used with the new Nike+ Sportsband kit.
[Race Test to follow]
Talking about what’s new.
Runner/Bloggers

June 21, 2009 Posted by | Gadgets and Gear, Running | Leave a comment