Everybody Loves Raymund

Run Away from Home

Credit should go to the better half for the idea of booking a room in the Manila Peninsula for the Globe Run for Home 2010. Since the race was set in the heart of the Makati Central Business District the plan was not to stress over the designated parking areas (which were scattered all over) and concentrate on the race.

On a regular race day I usually get up at 2am to prepare and drive myself to the venue. This time I have the luxury of getting up a few minutes before the race starts.

Yeah right! Vested interests are obvious. But I’m a willing victim.

I’m eager to know whether the core training I’ve been doing will have an impact on my time and performance. The objective is to reduce the load on the legs by firing up my core. My concern though is my right heel, the one with the nasty little spur. Solution: Kinesio Tape. Crossing my fingers it will work.

Upon checking in, we had to choose between two rooms.

Room 1: Superior Room

L1050718

– High floor

– King-sized bed

– 32″ LCD tv, stocked mini bar, wifi, etc.

L1050720

Ayala Ave. view

Room 2: De Luxe Room

L1050723

– Lower floor

– Twin beds (needed some push’n for more cush’n)

– 42″ LCD tv, stocked mini bar, wifi, etc.

L1050725

We upgraded to the second room for the Makati Avenue view. All runners will pass this way in the morning.

L1050726

Pre-race afternoon delight. Pen Clubhouse sandwich and fries.

L1050734

O.C.

March 21, 2010 - Posted by | Running, Travel

5 Comments »

  1. Ang daming baon, congrats Attorney. Good to meet the beautiful wifey at the race. See you again.

    Comment by run unltd. | March 21, 2010

  2. baon —> abubot —> suot!

    Comment by therainman96 | March 21, 2010

  3. good for you both!

    Comment by thesolemates | March 22, 2010

  4. great room!

    am sure naka bawi ka sa complimentary buffet bfast after ng run mo. hehehe.

    Comment by lonerunner | March 27, 2010

  5. with a dip in the pool pa after! hurray for late checkouts!

    Comment by therainman96 | March 27, 2010


Leave a comment