Everybody Loves Raymund

Cruisin’ in Coron

Here’s another late entry from a recent trip to Coron, Palawan.

I was scheduled to have a hearing last month but because of the rains causing flight cancellations, I had to fly in a day before and fly out a day after to make sure I’d be present.

What made this trip more interesting this time is because I took notice of the volume of motorcycles in town. In my previous trips there I explored walking or running. I actually climbed the Mt. Tapyas view deck twice in a visit – running. There are no public utility jeepneys or taxi cabs in Coron but there’s a horde of tricycles.

This time, I went to court riding pillion on a friend’s bike wearing my crisp-white barong with my case files!

Image

The court hearing was done in a few minutes before anybody could say “objection”. I had a day left in my itinerary but   renting a boat for myself and going island hopping never crossed my mind. So instead, I rented an underbone bike rode off to the Maquinit Saltwater Hot Spring.

Image

The road was muddy, slippery and rough but it was very scenic also. Good thing was that the bike had off road tires.  Believe it or not, I have never tried riding a small bike. I even have the impression that they are a nuisance to the metro streets. But, my view of things changed during the trip. I learned that for the locals motorbikes were an affordable mode of transportation and cultural icon. I am amused of the import the people put on their modern day horses. I only hope that the people also learn to ride safely by using crash helmets and other safety gear. I heard that so many have suffered fatal accidents on their roads.

It took about 15 minutes to get to the place from the town center. The reward for a day’s work was a relaxing warm saltwater dip. That night was capped with a few drinks in a Kawayanan, a local restaurant/bar. Who says you can’t mix business with pleasure?

Image

June 23, 2012 - Posted by | Miscellaneous, Motorcycle Diaries, The Law, Travel

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

